Hoosier women wanted for 2020 state art contest

State officials want to showcase the art of Hoosier women.

Lt. Governor Suzanne Crouch, Treasurer Kelly Mitchell and the Indiana Arts Commission announced the details for the 2020 Hoosier Women Artists contest earlier this week.

The theme of the 2020 Hoosier Women Artists competition is “a celebration of women and commemoration of the women’s suffrage centennial anniversary,” according to news release from the Indiana Arts Commission. Officials encourage artists to submit pieces related to the theme in the artists’ own interpretation.

The Hoosier Women Artists program has celebrated and further expanded the important role art plays in our communities by showcasing the work of talented women artists throughout the state since 2008.

The state will only accept framed wall art submissions. A panel including Crouch, Mitchell and peer artists coordinated by the Indiana Art Commission will judge the competition.

Winners of the Hoosier Women Artists contest will have their artwork displayed in the state Treasurer’s office and the Lt. Governor’s office at the Statehouse for one year to be enjoyed by the thousands of school groups, visitors and staff who explore the building annually.

Additionally, pieces of art will also be selected by First Lady Janet Holcomb, Secretary of State Connie Lawson, Auditor Tera Klutz, Chief Justice Loretta Rush and Superintendent of Public Instruction Jennifer McCormick to display in their respective offices and the Governor’s residence.

Submissions may be made on the Indiana Art Commission’s Online Application System from now through January 31, 2020. Applicants will need to create a username and password and select Hoosier Women Artists as the program name.

Requirements include:

• Framed wall art only
• Maximum dimensions (including frame): 42” x 60”
• Maximum weight: 60 lbs
• Must be installation ready, including frame and hanging wires
• Submit one entry per artist to be considered

A reception will be held on March 4, 2020, at the Indiana Statehouse to honor the selected artists.

For more information, contact Bridget Eckert, Director of Marketing and Communications for the Indiana Arts Commission, at [email protected].

Posted: Jan. 8, 2020

Zach Evans is the Community Director for the Arts Council of Southwestern Indiana. If you have news and information about arts and culture in the region, contact Zach.

Next Story

Evansville Poet Matthew Graham honored as Indiana’s Poet Laureate

Latest from Call for Entries & Call to Artists