Arts Council Announces Art Award Recipients

Click here to purchase tickets or reserve a table for your group.

The Arts Council of Southwestern Indiana announces the recipients of the 2024 Art Awards. These awards celebrate arts organizations, artists, and patrons who have made significant contributions to the arts and cultural landscape of our community. A committee of past winners and community arts advocates selected honorees from an inspirational pool of dedicated nominees.

The 2024 Art Awards: Iconic will be held on Thursday, August 15th from 5:30-8 pm at City View at Sterling Square, and will include recognition in the following categories:  Visual Art Award, Performing Art Award, Young Artist Award, Arts Educator Award, and Art Project Award.

In addition, the Arts Council Staff and Board of Directors will present the Arts Council Award to two recipients, Samantha Buente, for elevating arts and entertainment programming in Haynie’s Corner to enhance neighborhood connectivity, livability, and desirability, and Tory Schendel-Vyvoda, for excellence in academic, institutional, and neighborhood-based arts research, programming, and engagement. Two lifelong arts advocates, Ginny Schroeder and Terry Becker, will be remembered for their extraordinary efforts to advance the arts in our community with an Arts Luminary recognition. Rounding out the evening, Mayor Stephanie Terry will present the prestigious Mayor’s Art Award to Stephanie Engelbrecht, for decades of generous philanthropy, strategic leadership, and unfailing commitment to advancing arts and cultural opportunities and institutions in Evansville.

The following groups and individuals will be recognized at the event:

Visual Art Award
Jordan Barclay, in recognition of his direction of the Evansville-focused documentary featuring local artist Kevin Titzer, “Sack Race with Knives”

Performing Art Award
Children’s Theatre of Southern Indiana, for their work to expand theater education and performance opportunities for young people in our region

Young Artist Award
Bayla Espenlaub, for theater and vocal achievement
Braden Riley, for orchestral violin performance achievement 

Arts Educator Award
Rob Millard-Mendez, for growing the local creative community by educating and inspiring fine arts students at the University of Southern Indiana

Arts Project Award
BOOKED! concert series organized by Hamilton Golike, for providing an inclusive, all-ages alternative for musicians and avid listeners to give/experience in a small group setting 

Tickets for the 2024 Art Awards: Iconic are available via the Arts Council of Southwestern Indiana website. For sponsorship opportunities, to purchase a table, or to learn other ways to proactively support the Arts Council, please contact Director of Development, Lisa Moore at [email protected].

Click here to purchase tickets or reserve a table for your group.

Previous Story

Art Awards 2024: ICONIC

Next Story

PRESS RELEASE: Arts Council Announces Art Award Recipients

Latest from News

Art Awards: ICONIC

Please join us to honor those who have significantly contributed to our local arts community.  Visual