Arts Council Awards 2018

The Arts Council announces finalists of the 2018 Arts Awards event, Kaleidoscope: Celebrating Art from All Perspectives

The Arts Council of Southwestern Indiana has announced the finalists of the 2018 Arts Awards, featuring the Mayor’s Art Award and five other awards. The finalists this year are as follows:

Visual Arts Award Finalists
Kyle Darnell, print maker and ceramist
Erin Gibson, filmmaker
Jonathan Hittner, painter

Performing Arts Award Finalists
EVSC Honors Music Program
Next Act, Inc., community theater
Think Pink Productions, community theater

Young Arts Award Finalists
Emily Chamness, Reitz High School 2018
Cheyenne Miller, Signature School 2019

Arts Educator Award Finalists
Leigh Anne Howard, Ph. D., University of Southern Indiana
Sally Olson, Children’s Center for Dance Education
Eric Renschler, University of Evansville
Crystal Roberson, Mater Dei High School
Lee Veazey, Evansville Philharmonic Youth Orchestra

Mayor’s Art Award Recipient
The Martha and Merritt deJong Foundation

Arts Council Award Recipient
Alisa Holen

A reception and awards presentation will be held Thursday, August 16, 2018, at the DoubleTree Hotel in downtown Evansville. Tickets are $75 a person, of which $50 is a tax-deductible donation. Table sponsorships and donations made in honor of finalists are also available. For more information, to purchase tickets, or to be listed as a sponsor, call the Arts Council at 422-2111, or email Anne McKim at [email protected].

This high-profile, annual arts awards ceremony — including a cocktail buffet, cash bar, artist demonstrations, interactive displays, music, and a silent auction — honors individuals, businesses, and organizations that have made a significant contribution to the arts in our community. Artists, art educators, institutions, and arts patrons all are recognized at this event, which also presents one recipient with the prestigious Mayor’s Art Award.

***Click here to purchase tickets and tables***